Sleep Success

We are on our 7th night of sleep training. Evan is a little over 7 months old. Last night I put him to bed and he didn’t cry. DID NOT CRY. It was like he was a different baby. I went to bed at 7:30. Bliss.

Now, don’t get me wrong, getting here was not easy. Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, event Day 4… those days (nights, actually) were not pretty. I felt wretched letting him cry. But you know what? It had to happen. My other boy was not sleep-trained like this. He likes to sleep. I’m almost convinced he loves it. I never expected our 2nd son to be a horrible sleeper.

I was anti-CIO. I was. But when mom has to go to sleep at 7pm every night, keeping a breast in her son’s mouth to keep him pacified, and make dad sleep in another room, well that can’t last forever. This was a last resort. And it worked. You gotta do what you gotta do for the well-being of a family.

And guess what? He doesn’t hate me. He’s a happy, bubbly, crawling baby during the day, just like he was before training. And finally he’s resting on his own. Phenomenal.

Leave a Reply

