Another Fad Hobby?

Just in time for Christmas! I’m addicted to baking. And cooking. And eating, but that’s excusable, right? Since I’m breastfeeding and basically confined to the couch watching The Food Network.

4c1e7b52efe7476b_3-xxxlarge

Actually, I don’t personally think this is a fad. I’ve been baking ever since I tasted my grandmother’s homemade chocolate chip cookies – ooey, gooey, warm and sultry – but my major cooking spurts seem to come in waves, and giving birth to my second son warrants a reprieve, dontcha think?

For the love of all things sweet, I’ve spent the last 3 days baking snickerdoodles. I’m not even a huge fan of the damn cookie (where’s the chocolate?!), but my husband is, and I just downloaded a great cookbook with the recipe inside.

The thing is, it turns out the recipe was printed incorrectly. It took me several batches and a 2 a.m. breastfeeding slash Google research stint to figure out I wasn’t batty; snickerdoodles are definitely NOT supposed to come out of the oven hollow and far too sugary. I’m a perfectionist, so I had to get them right. And I did thanks to the author’s blog post. And it feels/tastes delicious.

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 9.58.24 PM

So if you want to come over and fill my stocking, I’m in the market for some kitchen goodies that hopefully won’t collect dust next year. Or make me gain back my pregnancy weight.

Yum.

Leave a Reply

