My Doctor Was Wrong

Correction: My baby’s doctor was wrong.

You’re only pumping an ounce of breastmilk per session? That’s not enough! You need to supplement.

So supplement I did. But only 2-4 ounces per day. That’s not what she had in mind, I know, but I was skeptical of her advice, especially since he had gained weight, even if only the bare minimum. But everywhere I read, and everyone I talked to, said that pumping is absolutely not an indicator of how much milk your baby is getting during feeding. And they were right. How else would my baby boy pack on 11 ounces in 7 days… (with only a tiny supplement)?

I never believed a doctor that I chose could be misinformed, but indeed she was. And that’s disheartening, because I trust her with my baby’s life. If I could change doctors, I would, but that’s not an option right now. It’s a good thing that this is a relatively minor error on her part, after all, she was likely schooled in formula feeding, not lactation. However I now know, from experience, that I can trust my body to support my baby’s nutritional needs, and that’s really comforting.

Is breastfeeding throwing you for a loop? I found this site extremely helpful, along with a few others it links to: http://kellymom.com/category/bf/

Leave a Reply

