The First Two Weeks

babyboyThe first two weeks are really hard, they tell you. And you believe them, because it’s true. Your life is turned upside-down because of the new tiny human occupying your household.

But they don’t tell you why the first two weeks are so difficult for mom. (Or maybe I never listened?) And they don’t tell you that anywhere from 2 weeks – 3 months is the actual amount of time it takes to get acclimated to the tiny human. But I will.

The First Two Weeks Post-Partum:

– Breastfeeding is the main time-suck. It’s painful at first (and that will continue if you don’t get it right) and it’s confusing. Is your baby eating enough? Are you producing enough? Are you eating the right foods? You have to feed your offspring how often?!

– Crying is as uncomfortable for the parents as it is for the kid. Seriously, it’s hormonally uncomfortable! You will have to figure out why they’re crying (through trial and error) and then, half of the them, realize they are probably crying for no reason.

– You are going to get all types of baby advice from absolutely everyone, including Google, and it will all conflict so you’ll be hella confused.

– Your body is going to hurt. Unmedicated, medicated, c-section, vaginal delivery. Don’t expect to be just a little sore. Six days postpartum my body felt like it had been hit by a mack truck. At first I was like, “What? Labor was hard but I’m healed. It’s not that bad, I’m a trooper!” Hahaha… then I started getting woozy at Target and feeling my nether-regions ache on a daily basis. My back killed me from neck to butt and I became delirious from lack of sleep. It simply took six days for the adrenaline to go away and the pain to set in.

I’ve officially made it to week 5. But it took me 2 weeks to finish this post, because my son will only sleep in human arms. And when he’s not sleeping, he’s eating, and guess where that takes place?

It’s a good thing he’s cute because I may have given him back. 😉

Leave a Reply

